8 Gold Medals and a Bong

By now I’m sure everyone has seen the story about Michael Phelps taking a hit from a bong during a visit to the University of South Carolina. phelps_narrowweb__300x4010

And you’ve heard how the critics have really buried him on this. I’m not one of those guys. He got photographed tokin it up with some college kids. I say let it go he’s 23 years old. I do not smoke marijuana and certainly don’t condone its use. However, I do know that 23year olds like to party. There are politicians, CEO’s, police officers, accountants etc… who did similar, if not worse things during their youth.

I don’t blame sponsors for dropping him over the photo. But this incident doesn’t make him a bad person. It’s certainly not as bad as what Kobe Bryant went through a few years back and he bounced back. So as long as Phelps doesn’t have anymore incidents no one will remember this slip up a few years down the road.

