The Struggle in Champaign

I was half-way looking forward to watching the Penn St. @ Illinois game last night and was kind of upset when something came up and I had to miss it. When I got home, the first thing I did was get on the net and check the scores of all the games. At first glance, one final score caught my attention right away. 38-33. I thought to myself what’s a high school girls score doing here? Then looking closer I realized that  it was the actual score from the game I had planned on watching.

38-33 Penn State. Yes that is correct. A full 40 minutes of basketball were played and that was the final. Halfway decent junior high teams usually at least make it into the 40s and their games are only 26 minutes long. Long story short I’m glad I missed that one. I love good defense as much as the next guy but this game had to have just been ugly. Illinois and Penn State’s defenses aren’t that good.The victorious Nittany Lions shot just 28% from the field. The Illini were actually a little better shooting a whopping 30% from the field. I really don’t know why these teams attempted more than 10 3’s but they did. Penn St went 3-17 and Illinois went 3-16 from three point land. Taylor Battle led all scorers with 11 points.

I’m done with this game.

Dan and I have been slacking a bit but there really hasn’t been that much news. Its still A-Rod this A-Rod that. At least Spring Training is underway.

