G-Town’s Summers, UF’s Calathes to Declare for Draft

Reportedly, Junior forward DaJuan Summers will enter the NBA and hire an agent. dajaunsummIf he does sign with an agent he will not be able to return next year. He averaged 13.6 ppg for the Hoyas last year and definitely has NBA type talent.  However I think he’s going to need play very well in the pre-draft camps to have any hope of going in the 1st round and getting that guaranteed money. I don’t know the kid’s situation but if I were advising him I’d tell him not to hire an agent. One more year of college ball could do nothing but help his chances of going in the 1st round. He may need money now but if somehow he could tough it out for another year I really think he’d end up with a quite a bit more money in the end.

Down in Tallahassee, it’s been reported that Sophomore Nick Calathes will test the waters.

hjk

Calathes averaged 17.2ppg, 6.4apg, 5.3rpg, 1.9spg in 08-09

He will not hire an agent so he will have the option of returning for his Junior season.  Calathes is a tremendous talent and will end up in the league at some point but he likely will not be a 1st round pick. If I were a Gators fan I wouldn’t be too worried about not having him next year. Like Summers he will need to play some outstanding pre-draft ball before he’ll have a shot at going in the 1st round. If Calathes returns and has a great Junior season he’ll without a doubt be a mid-late 1st round pick in the 2010 draft.

Testing the waters like this can only benefit a player. If I were an NBA prospect I’d declare every year even if I didn’t plan on going pro that season. Why not? You get to play against top notch talent, show the scouts what you can do and get feedback from the NBA guys on what you need to work on.

