Tim Floyd to Arizona?

73225334JG007_USC_v_UCLA

Reportedly Arizona is attempting to bring Tim Floyd to Tuscon. For Trojan fans what could be worse than losing the coach that’s revitalized the program to a Pac10 foe?

How about the fact that if he goes, two prized USC recruits may follow him to the desert. Solomon Hill & Renardo Sydney have only given verbals to USC. It’s very likely that they are more committed to Tim Floyd than USC. So if I were a gambling man I’d definitely be willing to wager a large sum of money that they’ll follow Floyd to Arizona.

I really don’t know what to think about this. At the very least, if I were Floyd I’d use the Arizona offer as leverage to get a new deal to stay at USC. Afterall, he has a good thing going there. Is USC basketball 2nd to Football? Sure it is. Floyd however, has a chance to put his mark on the program and possibly elevate them to the level of Trojan Football. If Floyd takes the Zona job he’ll be the successor to Lute Olson. If history has taught us anything, it’s that following a legendary coach is tough and usually doesn’t end well for the successor. Don’t get me wrong. I’m not saying Floyd can’t succeed in Tucson. I’m just saying that if I were him I’d try getting a new fat contract from USC before accepting an offer from Arizona. Unless he immediately win a Title he will constantly be compared to “the great” Lute Olson.

