Slightly Late NL Preview

nllogo

It may be a week late but I’m going to go ahead and post my National League predictions for 2009.

NL East: This division is going to be tight all the way to the end. In all honesty the only thing that would surprise me in this division is if the Nationals win it. The Marlins, Mets, Phillies and Braves all are capable of taking the division. A week ago I would’ve predicted that the Marlins would win it a week ago. But I’m going to flip flop and go with Mets just to be different.

  1. New York Mets
  2. Florida Marlins
  3. Philadelphia Phillies
  4. Atlanta Braves
  5. Washington Nationals

NL Central: The Cubs are the favorites but I think the Cardinals will still be in the thick of things late into September. The Reds are everyone’s surprise pick but they’re still a year or two away from being contenders. Just think about how long it took the Brewers to get over the hump. The same “experts” now picking the Reds were the same ones that said the Brewers would win it 4years ago.

  1. Chicago Cubs
  2. St. Louis Cardinals
  3. Milwaukee Brewers
  4. Cincinnati Reds
  5. Pittsburgh Pirates
  6. Houston Astros (The Astros horrible pitching staff has last place written all over it.)

NL West: In recent years this division has been pretty unpredictable? I’ve gotta go with the Dodgers here. They’ve got a killer lineup and very solid pitching.

  1. Los Angeles Dodgers
  2. Colorado Rockies
  3. Arizona Diamandbacks
  4. San Francisco Giants
  5. San Diego Padres

NL Awards & Playoffs

MVP: Albert Pujols: El Hombre is in mid season form already. Barring injury Pujols will have another huge year. With a 100% Pujols in the lineup this team is more than capable of making the playoffs. If they find themselves playing in October Pujols will be awarded MVP once again.

Cy Young: Josh Johnson: Johnson is a top notch Ace. This season I see him winning 18-20 games with an ERA under 2.85. If my projections hold true he will be the NL Cy Young.

ROY: Cameron Maybin: He’s going to get a lot of at bats in the potent Marlins lineup. Hence, he up better numbers than any other rookie.

Wildcard Team: St. Louis Cardinals: Chris Carpenter is back and looking strong. With their Ace finally back in the lineup they should have enough W’s when it’s all said and done to take the Wildcard. I like the Marlins in the NL East but I think that those teams are really going to beat up on each other so the wildcard will not come from the East.

Who’s Takin Home the Pennant: Chicago Cubs. Nah just kidding. I do think the Cubs will finally win a game postseason game but they will still manage to find a way to eliminate themselves in round 1. My real pick is the LA Dodgers. Like I said before I like their lineup and pitching.

