All Star Game: Stan Musial Deserved More

Musial is one of the top5 hitters of all time but once again he was overlooked

Musial is one of the top5 hitters of all time but once again he was overlooked

The AL won once again. I really don’t care about that. However I, like many other Cardinal fans, am very upset that Stan Musial did not get honored more. We all expected it to be like what Ted Williams got in Boston a few years back. I assume that MLB called the shots and not the Cardinals. This was a chance to put the most under-appreciated player in the history of the game into the spotlight. It’s an absolute disgrace how the East Coast Media has skipped over this guy. They should have paraded the man around the stadium on the Clydesdales for a good 5 minutes. That way every baseball fan young or old that is not familiar with the amazing career of Musial would have to ask who is this guy? Fox could have ran his accomplishments across the screen and provided audio clips of historic Musial at bats and player commentary in the background. All I can say is I’m very disappointed.

Maybe the Man being as modest as he is didn’t want the Williams treatment. If that’s the case then I completely understand and retract my statement of disapproval. Ted Williams was as arrogant as they came Stan was a down to earth superstar. His personality is part of the reason the East Coast press never gave him his due.

Granted, he’s an elderly man with some health issues. So if that was all he could handle then once again I’ll have to retract my statement of disapproval.

I can’t even describe how disappointed I am. He was honred but it just wasn’t what everyone expected. In St. Louis, Barack Obama got more publicity than Stan The Man the All-Star Game? Give Me a Break!  That’s an absolute joke! I just hope to god it was not the Cardinals choice for the weak display. I can’t help but wonder if the Obama administration pushed Stan aside to keep the focus on their public photo op.

Update 7/15: Bernie Miklasz had a great article in today’s St. Louis Post Dispatch about the Dud Musial Celebration.

One Response

  1. Baseballbriefs.com tracking back All Star Game: Stan Musial Deserved More…

    Baseballbriefs.com tracking back All Star Game: Stan Musial Deserved More…

Comments are closed.

