The Pub’s AFC and NFC Championship Preview

GAME 1

New York Jets(9-7) @ Indianapolis Colts(14-2)

The Jets bandwagon has filled beyond capacity. After this game is over there will be a stampede of idiots jumping off the Jets bandwagon. Rex Ryan is a great coach and the Jets seem to have built up a great deal of momentum. Hell, Darrelle Revis is now even considered the second coming Deion Sanders. I’ll admit that the Jets have been impressive and they are playing at a very high level. However they will be no match for Peyton Manning and the Colts. The Colts opened the playoff door for the Jets and Sunday they are going to slam that door shut. The key factor in this game will the Quarterbacks. Peyton Manning always seems to get better the 2nd time he faces a defense and I have no doubt that he’ll have a very strong performance in this game. On the other side, Mark Sanchez will be the chink in the Jets armor. They have a great running game but the Colts offense will force New York to go to the air. When this happens the rookie QB will struggle.

Final Prediction: Colts win 35-17

GAME 2

Minnesota Vikings(12-4) @ New Orleans Saints (13-3)

Not surprisingly largely pro-Brett Favre popular media are over-rating the Vikings and overlooking the Saints. Favre was great last week and has been great most of the season but the only Brett Favre talk that will be going on after this game is whether he’s returning for another season. Why do I like the Saints?

1. Location, Location, Location

The Saints are tough at home. They did drop 2 in the Superdome so they’re not invincible. However the Vikings just don’t always seem to have the same fire on the road. They only finished .500 on the road this season with all 4 of their losses coming outside the comforts of the Metrodome.

2. The Greatest Show on Turf

As a Rams fan I often find myself reminiscing about the “Greatest Show on Turf” days. In all honesty though, I really have to look no further than the Saints. Sean Payton‘s high powered offense reminds so much of the Juggernaut Rams teams a few back. The Saints do a great job of protecting Drew Brees so I really just don’t see the Vikings pass rush slowing the Saints down.

3. The Saints Defense

That’s right I’m talking about the Saints defense. This team knows how to force turnovers. The defense will come up big and be the unsung hero of this game. When you’re watching the recap of this game you’ll likely see nothing but flashy offense but my gut tells me the defense will win this game for the Saints.

Final Prediction: Saints win 42-35

5 Responses

  1. Your whole article is Saints this and Saints that, and then you writhe Vikes win???

  2. Yeah that doesn’t make much sense does it?

    Big Typo on my part.

  3. The Saints have forgiven you…:) That was a game for the ages…

  4. I was pulling for the Saints and was glad to see them pull it out. That game was great though. I couldn’t have imagined a more entertaining game.

    Thanks for checking out the site by the way. You must have some expert google skills or maybe just bad luck to stumble upon my mediocre at best attempt at sports blogging.

  5. No, but on my blog, under Tags, I have New Orleans Saints and NFL, and that’s how I found you. My blog content is religious, but I have a thing for sports, too. 🙂

Comments are closed.

